Registration in the Diocese
Video chitre
Herrera is a Panamanian province that takes place in the north of the peninsula of Azuero and its capital is the city of Chitré. At the north it is limited by the provinces of Veraguas and Coclé, in the south by the province of Los Santos, in the east by the gulf of Parita and the province of Los Santos and in the west by the province of Veraguas, with the district of Mariato. It receives this name in honor of the General Tomás Herrera, a military man and politician neogranadine, president of the Republic of Colombia and head of state of the Free State of the Isthmus during 1840 and 1841.
The Diocese of Chitré includes the province of Herrera and Los Santos with its main office at the Cathedral of Chitré, capital of the province of Herrera. It was established on July 21st, 1962 and it is suffragan diocese of the Archdiocese of Panama. It holds 23 parishes and about 32 priests.
saint chitre
Cathedral of the Diocese of Chitré
He was born in David, in the province of Chiriquí, Republic of Panama on March 18th, 1968. He studied philosophy and theology in the Major Seminar San José of Panama. He was ordained a priest on December 16th, 1995, at the Metropolitan Cathedral of Panama.
Pope Francis named him bishop of the diocese of Chitré on April 25th, 2013, and he was made a canon on July 6th, 2013.



Península de Azuero

Head office

Provincia de Herrera y Los Santos


Dólar USA






Territorial Extension

6,225 km²


107.911 inhabitants

Constituted diocese

21 de julio de 1962

Cerro la Cruz-Las Minas

Ciénaga de las Macanas - el rincón

Iglesia Colonial San Atanasio - La Villa

Pueblo colonial de Parita